Gluten-free food list information on 2/26/2010:
Kraft no longer provides a gluten-free list of their food products. Kraft owns the JELL-O Brand of Gelatin Snacks and Desserts. Kraft consumer customer service telephone representatives will not disclose whether a specific brand is gluten-free. However, the following information about Kraft's gluten-free food labeling practices may help you to determine if a particular Kraft food is gluten-free:
Kraft gluten-free ingredient labeling information on 2/26/2010 from the Kraft Foods web site (http://brands.kraftfoods.com/kraftnutrition):Gluten is part of the protein found in certain grains. It is comprised of gliadin and glutenin and is present in wheat, barley and rye. Products and ingredients made from these grains, such as flours and starches, also contain gluten. Oats have a related protein that is similar to gluten.
Kraft Winter 2010 Nutrition Update
Certain people cannot properly digest and metabolize gluten due to a genetic condition called celiac disease. The gliadin component of gluten is problematic for these individuals. In the United States, an estimated 3 million people (about 0.8% of the population) are affected. It is recommended that those diagnosed with celiac disease follow a gluten-free, gliadin-free diet for life.
We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help them make informed choices and plan their meals. Our policy for all Kraft products, including Oscar Mayer and Nabisco brands, is to list gluten-containing ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label.
Carefully read the ingredient statements on all food labels each time you make food selections. This enables you to obtain the most accurate ingredient information for the specific products you select. It also allows you to get the most current information since ingredients in products may change over time. The ingredient information on labels of Kraft products is very specific to help you make accurate and informed choices. If a Kraft product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount. For labeling purposes, Kraft products will always state the names ‘wheat, barley, rye and/or oats’ when they are added to a product either directly as an ingredient or as part of an ingredient.
Tips about Common Ingredients
- Food Starch and Modified Food Starch listed in the ingredient statements of Kraft products often refer to corn starch. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten-containing source, such as wheat starch, the source is always identified in the ingredient statement.
- If Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) is used as an ingredient in a Kraft product, the source is always identified in the ingredient list.
- The ingredient Mustard or Mustard Flour does not contain gluten.
- Vinegar listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products means distilled vinegar is used. Per our ingredient suppliers, the distilled vinegar we use does not contain gluten.
These labeling practices and tips are based on the Kraft Foods approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by other manufacturers may differ.