Cheese: Gluten-free list

Land O'Lakes, Inc.
Gluten-free food information from their website ( on their Gluten-free FAQ page on 3/3/2010:

Question:Do LAND O LAKES® Products contain gluten?
Answer: “Land O'Lakes, Inc. strives to provide complete and accurate ingredient information on its labels. For any specific product, we feel the best source of this information is the product ingredient listing on the package. To date, the FDA and USDA have not defined the term "gluten-free." To the best of our knowledge, the ingredients in our natural dairy products (e.g., natural cheese and butter) do not contain gluten.

Sargento Foods Inc.
Gluten-free food information on 3/3/2010 from the Sargento Foods website FAQ page

Question: Is there gluten in Sargento cheeses?

Answer: We are pleased to tell you that most Sargento natural cheeses should be acceptable to a gluten-free diet. However, there are a few exceptions.

There is wheat gluten in Sargento Blue Cheese. Those on a gluten-free diet should also not eat the following Sargento Snacks: Cheese Dips! Cheddar Dip & Buttery Pretzels, Cheese Dips! Cheddar Dip & Zesty Ranch Bagel Chips, Cheese Dip & Sticks, Cheese Dip & Cheddar Sticks, Cheese Dip & Pretzels, Cheese Dip & Crackers, Chocolate Dip & Cookie Sticks or S’mores.

You will notice that we use microcrystalline cellulose, calcium carbonate or potato starch as anti-caking agents on our shredded cheeses. When added to shredded cheese, they prevent the shreds from sticking together.

Microcrystalline cellulose is a white, odorless, tasteless, totally natural powder made from cellulose, a naturally occurring component of most plants. Calcium carbonate and potato starch are also natural ingredients. None of these anti-caking agents is derived from wheat, rye, oats or barley; therefore, they are acceptable to a gluten-free diet.

The source of vinegar in Sargento Ricotta Cheese can vary; however, it is triple distilled, and, to the best of our knowledge, no gluten is present.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have questions about how our products may affect your medical condition, we suggest you discuss this information with your physician.

Message from the Gluten-Free Info Webmaster: Please read the above information carefully because it includes information about Sargento foods that are NOT gluten-free and that should be AVOIDED on the gluten-free diet.