R

Ralston Foods

Ralston Foods
A Division of Ralcorp Holdings, Inc.
P.O. Box 618
St. Louis, Missouri 63188-0618

Phone: (800) 725-7866

Sent letter dated 4/6/99 which stated the following:
"The only cereal we produce that can be considered gluten free, is the Ralston Sun Flakes cereal. However, this cereal is not produced on a dedicated line in our production facility. Although stringent sanitation procedures are utilized when our lines are prepared for different product runs, we are unable to guarentee that cross contamination will not occur."

Reckitt Benckiser Inc.

P.O. Box 945
Wayne, NJ 07474-0945

Phone: (973) 633-3600
Fax: (973) 686-7270

Provides gluten-free products list

Red Star Yeast

Red Star Yeast & Products
A Division of Universal Foods Corporation
P.O. Box 737
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201-0737

Phone: (800) 445-4746

Sent letter 3/26/99 which said "Please be assured our yeast products are gluten free."


S

Sargento Foods, Inc.

Consumer Product Division
One Persnickety Place
Plymouth, WI 53073-3544

Phone: (920) 893-8484 or (800) 558-5802
Fax: (920) 893-8399

Sent a letter dated 7/19/99 which included the following statements:
"We are pleased to tell you that most Sargento natural cheeses should be acceptable to a gluten-free diet.
Sargento Shredded Imitation Mozzarella Cheese contains a modified food starch which may contain gluten.  We would also not recommend that anyone on a gluten-free diet eat our Shredded Taco Cheese, our Shredded Nacho & Taco Cheese, or our 3 Cheese Southwestern Pepper Jack Shredded Cheese.  There is wheat flour in the spice mixture in these products.  For obvious reasons, we would also not recommend our Moo Town Snacks Cheeze & Sticks, Cheeze & Pretzels, Cheeze and Crackers, or Cookies and Creme.
You will notice that we use microcrystalline cellulose as an anti-caking agent on most of our shredded cheeses.  When added to shredded cheese, cellulose prevents the shreds from sticking together.  Microcrystalline cellulose is a white, odorless, tasteless, totally natural powder made from cellulose, a naturally occurring component of most plants. It is not derived from wheat, oats, barley, or rye.
The source of the vinegar in Sargento Ricotta Cheese can vary; however, it is triple distilled, and, to the best of our knowledge, no gluten is present.
We hope this information is helpful.  If you have questions about how our products may affect your medical condition, we suggest you discuss this information with your physician."

Seneca

Seneca Foods Corporation
3736 South Main Street
Marion, New York 14505

Phone: (315) 926-4284

Provides gluten-free products list 

Smucker's

The J.M. Smucker Company
Strawberry Lane
Orrville, Ohio 44667-0280

Phone: (330) 682-3000
Fax: (330) 684-3370
Website: www.smucker.com

Sent letter dated 6/28/00 which stated the following:
"All our Traditional fruit spreads: Jams, Jellies, Preserves, Marmalades, Fruit Syrups, Low-Sugar and Sugar Free Fruit spreads, Simply 100% Fruit Spread etc., are gluten-free. Also, our Natural Peanut Butters are gluten-free.
Smucker's chocolate and milk-based ice cream toppings contain modified food starch which is of waxy maise (corn) origin and should not contain any gluten.  However, our Sundae Syrups do contain oat flour, which is unacceptable for many gluten intolerant patients."

Snyder of Berlin

Snyder of Berlin
Division of Curtice Burns Foods
1313 Stadium Drive
Berlin, PA 15530-1401

Phone: (814) 267-4641
Fax: (814) 267-5648

Sent letter, dated 7/30/99, which listed some of their gluten-free products.

StarKist Seafood

A Division of StarKist Foods

One Riverfront Place
Newport, Kentucky, 41071

Phone: (800) 252 1587
Fax: (606) 655-1555

Sent a letter dated 3/22/99 which stated the following:
StarKist Tuna does not contain gluten from wheat, barley, rye, oats, millet, or buckwheat. In addition, it does not contain any derivatives of gluten."

Sun-Maid Growers of California

13525 South Bethel Avenue
Kingsburg, California 93631-9232

Phone: (559) 896-8000
Fax: (559) 897-2362
E-mail: smaid@sunmaid.com

Sent letter dated 6/22/00, which included the following statements:
"There are no additives or preservatives in our Sun-Maid Natural Sun-Dried Raisins or our Zante Currants.  When the raisins are ready to be processed, we clean the raisins using large aspirators (vaccums), graders, and shakers to remove stems, dirt, and other foreign objects. We then do a very thorough washing in fresh water which rehydrates the raisins.
Sun-Maid Golden Raisins are cleaned in much the same way, although these raisins are treated with the preservative sulfur dioxide.  This form of sulfite has been used for centuries to prevent darkening of the fruit during the drying process.  Sulfites also help preserve the vitamin A and vitamin C content of foods.  The ingredient listing on all our packages are complete and accurate, and should be read carefully if there is any question of a possible allergic reaction.  If you do have any questions, we suggest you contact your family physician."


T

Tetley USA Inc.

100 Commerce Drive
Shelton, CT 06848

Phone: (203) 929-9297
Fax: (203) 926-1108

Sent a letter dated 7/13/00, which included the following statement: 'Tetlley USA Inc. manufactures only tea and tea products. All of the tea bags packaged by Tetley USA Inc., including our decaffeinated tea bags, which are decaffeinated by a natural ethyl acetate extraction, contain only black tea leaves, which do not contain any gluten. The iced tea mix sold under the Tetley brand name does not contain gluten either. The caramel coloring used as an ingredient in that iced tea mix is manufactured from high dextrose containing corn syrup, which is gluten-free."

Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc.

Consumer Relations
7401 South Cicero Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60629

Phone: (773) 838-3400
Fax: (773) 838-3534

Sent letter dated 6/26/00, which included the following statements:
"We are pleased to be able to inform you that, at this time, to the very best of our knowledge, all of our confections are gluten free.  We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.  We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products."

Topco

Topco Associates, Inc.
7711 Gross Point Road
Skokie, Illinois 60077

Phone: (847) 676-3030
Fax: (847) 676-5694

Sent a letter dated 8/20/00 which stated the following:
"We do not have have a list of gluten free items. Due to the large number of products we distribute, and producing plants and even formulas will change from time to time and it would be impossible to keep the distributed lists as accurately as our company insists on. At any time, we can tell you if a specific item is gluten free."